Home    About Me    Reviews    My Policy    Contact    Faves    Book Swap    Archive    2012 Reads

Thursday, 20 February 2014

Blog Tour: Party Girl - Rachel Hollis (Review)


 Party Girl

Title: Party Girl
Author: Rachel Hollis
Release Date: February 14th, 2014 
Publisher: Chic Publishing
Age and Genre: New Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 360
Source: for blog tour

Landon Brinkley is making her dreams come true. After years of poring over glossy photos of celebrity parties in People and US Weekly, she’s landed her Holy Grail: an internship with the fabulous Selah Smith, event planner to the Hollywood elite.

Moving from small town Texas to Los Angeles, Landon finds herself in a world in which spending a million dollars on an event – even for kids’ birthdays – is de rigueur. The thrill of working on A-list parties and celeb weddings is enough to get her through the 75-hour workweeks, the nightmare of a multi-day film festival, and abuse at the hands of a mercurial boss. LA is full of opportunity for fame, fortune and even love. But confronted with the seamy realities of the business, she is forced to make a choice: do whatever it takes to get ahead, or stay true to herself.

A roman a clef in the vein of The Devil Wears Prada, PARTY GIRL draws on the author’s real life experience for an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at the celebrity-obsessed world of event planning. From the party habits of America’s favorite underage singer to the worst Bridezilla of all (the kind that graces the cover of your favorite magazine), PARTY GIRL reveals the ugly side of Hollywood’s prettiest parties.

If you're like me and really obsessed with celebrity magazines and looking over their weddings and parties, then you'll like this book. It's about this young woman trying to make her career into event planning and is interning for the biggest event planner in Hollywood. 

I really liked Landon and I felt sorry for her throughout the book. Her boss is a freaking bitch. But Landon was so determined and never once gave up. She had all these dreams and even though everything wasn't what she expected, she stood up again and tried. There were some stupid decisions that she did but nothing that really annoyed me. All in all, she was a very relatable heroine. 

The romance was where I wasn't impressed with. At first, I thought there would be this love triangle, but then there wasn't. And the guy that she ended up with kinda was a bit two dimensional. I would have liked to have more scenes with him, to further develop his character and so we can get a better feel of him. He was a bit of a cliche to be honest.

I really found the whole party event behind the scenes look very interesting. It turns out there's a lot that I didn't know and there were a lot of times where I was very surprised and shocked. I did like the fact that this book was different to others were it focuses on events planning instead of the usual fashion firms. Anyone who's very interested in Hollywood or the media will pretty much enjoy this book and for people who also loved The Devil Wears Prada. 

3.5 stars

Rachel Hollis - About the author:

Rachel HollisRachel Hollis is the founder of the popular lifestyle blog www.thechicsite.com and Los Angeles-based event planning firm, Chic Events.  At 27, she was named by Inc. Magazine as one of the “Top 30 Entrepreneurs under 30.”  She has designed and produced fabulous parties for many of Hollywood’s elite, including Bradley Cooper, Rashida Jones, Al Gore, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Ivanka Trump, Jamie King, and Cuba Gooding Jr. (just to name a few).  Most recently, she planned the nuptials of actress Sara Rue’s wedding, which garnered national coverage in magazines such as People and US Weekly.

In 2010, Rachel appeared as the wedding planner on the WE Network show “Jilted?” This six-part relationship series followed potential brides as they gave their suitors ultimatums to see if they would get the wedding of their dreams or get “jilted.”

In addition, Rachel is a lifestyle expert for The Talk, EXTRA, The Nate Berkus Show, The Steve Harvey Show, KTLA Morning News, Fox 5, Better TV and a regular contributor on PopSugar TV and Celebrations.com. She has been featured in People, InStyle, OK! Weekly, Entertainment Weekly, Better Homes and Garden, Traditional Home, Entrepreneur, Grace Ormand and the TV shows “Jilted” and “I Do Over” for the WE Network, “The Traveler’s Guide to Life” on the Travel Channel” and “Self Made.”

Party Girl  Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19545780-party-girl?from_search=true


Landon’s Brown Bag Special:

 Bag 1
 Essie Resort Collection
 Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream
 Kokokahn Lip Balm
 Nicole by OPI Nail Polish
 big sexy hair styling product
Acure leave-in conditioner
 RGB Nail Polish
 Revolution Organics Freedom Glow Beauty Balm

 Bag 2
 Essie Resort Collection
 Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream
 Kokokahn Lip Balm
 Nicole by OPI Nail Polish
 big sexy hair styling product
Sulwhasoo Exfoliating Gel
RGB Nail Polish
 Revolution Organics Freedom Glow Beauty Balm

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Hi Jana,
    Thanks for your review, I'm so glad you liked the book. As for the romance in the story, I'm totally with you… originally I wrote it with a lot of romance and it would have ended up being a big love story but then I pulled back and re-wrote it because I really wanted the book to be about Landon. I worried that if it was too much about a love story then women might get the impression that she needed him to help her career. Anyway, Max's story is up next… I promise to make it dripping with romance (and bad attitude, because, well, it's Max). xo, Rachel


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...